Blog

How to Delete Facebook and Instagram From Your Life Forever
How to Delete Facebook Page

December 7, 2018

Are you sick and tired of constant problems with your Instagram and Facebook? Do you want to minimize the social media influence on your life but do not know how? We have prepared a guideline on how to delete an Instagram account once and for all.

We all know that there are lots of wicked and petrifying news concerning the social network. Recently, Facebook has announced that security vulnerability exposed around 50 million accounts to being taken over by hackers. By means of this vulnerability, a hacker could easily take control over your account. In other words, anything you have ever written or downloaded on Facebook, or even apps which are tied to your Facebook account, could have been exposed to infiltration.

After the exposure of Facebook’s breach, my belief in Facebook was absolutely eroded. As a result, I decided to remove all my data from Facebook and cleaned out my account. The conclusion I drew from all of this is that the more your life is dependent on Facebook, the more time it will take for you to delete your account.

Here is a detailed guideline that will help you to delete Facebook page without excessive troubles and pains. For those looking for a cleaner getaway, below you can also find information on how to get rid of your Instagram, Facebook’s photo-sharing app.

Step 1: Take care of everything you can potentially lose

Before starting a brand-new life without Facebook, you should avert the potential collateral damage. Lots of services and websites are directly connected to Facebook, and thus you can encounter some difficulties with accessing them without your Facebook account. 

The best way to test the waters is to deactivate your Facebook account, which is actually an account suspension, and you can easily reverse it when needed. To do this, you just need to find settings and choose “Manage Your Account.” After that, push the button called “Deactivate your account.”

When I took this step, I was no longer able to run Instagram ads to advertise my dog’s Instagram account since the advertising tools were connected to Facebook. Thus, if you deal in business and plug products on Instagram, by breaking up with Facebook, you will no longer be able to access your marketing channel. The same is true if you want to delete your Facebook business page.

By deactivating my account, I also could not use apps and websites which I tied to my Facebook account while registering. I also discovered that I was not able to access Pinterest. To renew access, I activated my Facebook account once again and fixed my Pinterest settings. At the same time, I disconnected the Pinterest account from Facebook and set a new password. After that, I accessed Pinterest with my e-mail address.

As for such apps as Spotify and ChefSteps, I also disconnected them from my Facebook account. I set new passwords for those services to renew access with my e-mail address.

This process was surely very painful. Nonetheless, it was quite useful since I was able to make sure that by deleting my Facebook page, I would not lose access to other services which were tied to Facebook.

Step 2: Download your data

After taking care of everything I might have potentially lost, I got down to deleting Facebook. First, I extracted my data from social media. It implied any personal information that I had kept in my account, such as photos, message transcripts, friends list, and everything that would be impossible to access after deleting my Facebook account. 

Here a really smart tool named Download Your Information, which you can find in Facebook's settings, comes particularly in handy. By means of this tool, you can choose what sort of data you want to extract.

I made a copy of all my data. I spent around an hour to collect all the information into one file which was approximately 700 megabytes. It took around 10 minutes to open the file. The information itself was distributed into folders with different sort of data, such as photos, search history, and messages.

Step 3: Push the delete button

After providing myself with a copy of all my Facebook data which was important to me, I needed to take the most crucial step. In Facebook’s settings menu, I pushed the button “Your Facebook information” and opted for “Delete Your Account and Information.”

Eventually, I clicked on the “Delete Account" button. A prompt appeared asking for my password. Then a box turned up stating that I would not be able to regain my account after this action. I did not care, so I pushed the button.

Step 4: Overcome the temptation of getting back

But hold on. After pushing delete, my Facebook account was not in fact completely deleted. According to Facebook, my account could be permanently deleted after 30 days, and that if I accessed Facebook again, I would be able to cancel the deletion request.

Here you have this grace period which appears quite tempting for people to regain their Facebook accounts. But other from that, the whole deletion process can last up to 3 months to clean out all backups of your data from the company’s servers. Simply put, arm yourself with patience.

Step 5: Break up with your Instagram

If after detaching yourself from Facebook, you wonder how to delete an Instagram account, you should not worry since this process will be much easier. In fact, Instagram is not as widespread as Facebook; at least, you do not use your Instagram account to access other apps, for example.

You can do the following: inside the photo app’s settings, you can choose an option to download a copy of your data. Then, Instagram will send you a link to download the file. It the case of my account, it took around 10 minutes. Then, you can go to the Delete Your Account webpage and click on the button to delete your account.
I will be honest, I did not stick to all of this. I decided to keep my Instagram simply because I want to maintain contact with my friends.

Step 6: Take care of your security

After breaking up with your friend, have you ever blocked him/her on Facebook so that he/she would not have access to your posts and photos? You should also take this step after getting away from Facebook to ensure that the site does not track your browsing activities.

You should be extremely mindful about eradicating tracking methods that Facebook and other websites use to follow you. It involves purging your web cookies, resetting your advertising identifier, and downloading a tracker blocker.

After I went through all of these steps on my own, I did not feel the sense of a complete breakup with social media which I actually had expected. Maybe that is because I understood I could allow myself to reverse the Facebook deletion to create a handy guideline like this one. Either way, I still have 30 days to make up my mind.